So I Like Best of All Autumn

I like spring, but it is too young.  I like summer, but it is too proud.
So I like best of all autumn, because its leaves are
a little yellow, its tones mellower, its colors richer, and it is tinged
a little with sorrow.  Its golden richness speaks not
of the innocence of spring, nor of the power of summer, but
of the mellowness and kindly wisdom of approaching age.
It knows the limitations of life and is content.

~ Lin Yutang

brp-foggy-autumn-02-copy
Bobcat Corner, NC
5 thoughts on “So I Like Best of All Autumn

  1. Don Gillum October 31, 2016 / 4:24 PM

    Nice one for the calendar .. Please save

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Vicki October 30, 2016 / 8:16 PM

    love this poem, you could say that it applies to people as well.. children, young adult and middle age. winter being old age. The photograph is beautiful.

    • Beckyg October 31, 2016 / 2:25 AM

      I love the poem, too. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

